Soloing

This national geographic video spotlights an extreme sport called soloing, or free solo climbing. It is essentially climbing a mountain without anything to help you; no rope, no harness, no parachute. Alex Honnold has been soloing for almost 12 years, and he has climbed some of the greatest walls in the world. In the video he climbs a wall called moonlight buttress, and he explains how most of the time, there is hardly any of your body actually touching the wall of the rock. Most of the time it is just half of your fingers and your toes, while the rest of your body is surrounded by air. I am not particularly afraid of heights, but I end up holding my breath while I watch this guy climb the side of a mountain. It is a really cool thing to watch, but I don’t understand how someone has the guts to do that.

One thought on “Soloing

  1. […] technology in this video seems like it is really simple, but it feels really innovative and new. https://chardoyle.wordpress.com/2011/10/24/soloing/ This guy is amazing and i think its absolutely on on the videos from my blog that you have to see. […]

Leave a comment